What Are The Car Insurance Requirements in FL?
Anyone who owns a motor vehicle in Florida must have and maintain personal injury protection or PIP coverage of $10,000 and property damage liability coverage of $10,000. You may also have up to a $1,000 deductible for PIP and a $500 deductible for property damage liability.
What is Personal Injury Protection Insurance?
PIP covers the policyholder regardless of whether they are at fault for or cause an accident. It can cover up to $10,000, which is the minimum limit, minus the deductible amount. This coverage is specifically designed to lessen the need to sue for reimbursement of losses incurred in a car accident. For policyholders to access their PIP benefits, they must obtain initial care and services within 14 days following the accident. PIP will cover:
- Up to 80% of all reasonable medical costs associated with the crash
- Up to 60% of lost income due to the crash
- Death benefits up to $5,000
For motor vehicle crashes that occur in Florida, this will cover the policyholder, relatives who reside with them, specific passengers who are not vehicle owners, and others who drive the policyholder’s vehicle with permission. Bicyclists and pedestrians are likewise entitled to PIP insurance. Additionally, PIP insurance will cover violent acts against the policyholder, including when they suffer injuries due to carjacking or road rage.
What is Property Damage Liability Insurance?
This covers damage that the policyholder or their family members cause to another individual’s property. In this case, property refers to another motor vehicle, bicycle, building, telephone, fence, and gate. Property damage liability insurance will cover the policyholder even if they are driving another individual’s vehicle. Depending on the policy’s terms and conditions, it may likewise cover anyone else that uses the policyholder’s vehicle with their permission.
What is Bodily Injury Liability Insurance?
While PIP and property damage liability coverage are required in Florida, bodily injury liability insurance is optional for most vehicle owners. It is only required for owners who have a prior DUI conviction. They must have this coverage for at least three years following the reinstatement of their driver’s license. It covers severe and permanent injuries or death to other people when the policyholder’s vehicle is involved in a crash and the driver is at-fault for the crash.
Bodily injury liability insurance also covers injuries the policyholder and relatives living with them, even if they were driving another person’s vehicle. Additionally, the insurance provider will cover the legal fees of the policyholder if they get sued.
Talk to Our Skilled FL Car Accident Attorneys Today
Get in touch with Matthews Injury Law today for your free case review if you have suffered injuries in a crash because of another’s negligence and have questions regarding what is covered under your auto insurance policy. Our FL car accident attorneys are ready to help you navigate the confusing legal process and secure the maximum compensation you’re owed under the law. Please call our office at 813-530-1000 or reach us online to schedule your meeting with our FL car accident attorney today.